Saturday, March 03, 2012

Mosses (IV)

Thallose liverworts.

  The division Bryophyta formerly included not only mosses, but also liverworts and hornworts. These other two groups of bryophytes are now placed in their own divisions. It is estimated that there are 6,000 to 8,000 species of liverworts - apart from the approximately 12,000 species of moss. The most familiar liverworts consist of a prostrate, flattened, ribbon-like or branching structure called a thallus (plant body); these liverworts are termed thallose liverworts (Thallophyta). However, most liverworts produce flattened stems with overlapping scales or leaves in two or more ranks, the middle rank is often conspicuously different from the outer ranks; these are called leafy liverworts or scale liverworts

  Η κλάση των βρυοφύτων μέχρι πρόσφατα περιλάμβανε, εκτός από τα βρύα, και τις κατηγορίες των liverworts και hornworts. Αυτές οι δύο ομάδες βρυοφύτων κατέχουν δικές τους ξεχωριστές κλάσεις. Υπολογίζεται πως υπάρχουν 6.000 με 8.000 είδη liverworts - ξέχωρα από τα 12.000 είδη βρύων. Τα πιο γνωστά είδη αυτής της κλάσης αποτελούνται από μια επίπεδη, πεπλατυσμένη σαν κορδέλλα ή διακλαδισμένη δομή που καλείται thallus (το κυρίως σώμα του φυτού, εξ' ού και "Thallophyta"). Τα περισσότερα όμως είδη liverworts παράγουν πεπλατυσμένους φολιδωτούς μίσχους σε δύο ή περισσότερες σειρές, στις οποίες η μεσαία είναι προφανώς διαφοροποιημένη από τις εξωτερικές. Αυτά τα είδη λέγονται συνήθως φυλλώδη ή φολιδωτα liverworts

Very distinct thallose liverworts.

Another unidentified, submerged, scale liverwort.

No comments:

Post a Comment